top of page
Search
  • Sidney Scott-Sharoni

Something in Advocacy...

Non-profit organizations often host a few major fundraising events during the year. For NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness) Coastal Virginia, the important event for the first half of 2019 was St. Hattrick’s Day jointly hosted by NAMI, Norfolk Admirals ECHL hockey team, and Buffalo Wild Wings. NAMI produced t-shirts, flyers, and stuffed llamas to give out and sell before, during, and after the game. As with any event, a lot of effort needs to occur before the actual date. I contributed by tying blue ribbons on the llamas and replacing old labels (see photo). It sounds tedious, but I wanted them to look professionally done so I was very meticulous when tying the bows.

Before the game started, the mascot for NAMI Coastal Virginia and unofficial mascot for NAMI in general, a llama, danced around on the ice. To show support, the Norfolk Admirals dyed the ice green, the official color for mental health awareness (see photo). The very moment doors open, I was stationed by the entrance, with another volunteer, to pass out informational flyers about NAMI. I enjoyed it because I think everyone, especially men interested in sports, can value from learning more about mental health. Unfortunately, I saw a few people either throw away the flyers or drop them on the ground immediately after taking them. The other volunteer and I maintained a good attitude though. We picked up the ones off the floor and just continued to pass the small flyers out.

At half time, videos about mental illness stigmas and NAMI played on the jumbotron. I was able to watch some of the half time festivities but not all of them. Instead, I found myself stationed at the NAMI table (see photo). Covered with informational sheets, sign up lists, volunteer forms, and stuffed llamas, the NAMI table encouraged people to learn more or get involved with the organization. While I sat there, the two ladies I worked closely with told me to try to sell llamas. I managed to sell some, which they were very happy with because they had not been able to. Ultimately, the night was a lot of fun. More importantly though, I hope it was beneficial to the community.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Nonverbal Communication Reflection

The purpose of an ePortfolio is to improve a student’s online professional presence. My online portfolio has improved my professional image because it did not exist on the internet beforehand. While I

bottom of page